Headless/Monitorless Windows 7

irads
Site Admin
Posts: 2366
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 2:11 pm

Re: Headless/Monitorless Windows 7

Post by irads »

Sounds like a useful tip for win7 headless configurations. Thanks!
-------------------------
Irad Stavi
Forum admin

-------------------------

grzeszek101
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:14 pm

Re: Headless/Monitorless Windows 7

Post by grzeszek101 »

Hi IntensePC_User,

Congrats, but no joy in this Mudville ... http://fit-pc.com/forum/posting.php?mod ... =95&t=4619#

I gave your instructions a try, and no matter what I did - uninstall Intel display drivers, use Windows VGA, etc. - I never received any multi-monitor message when clicking on Detect. It almost seems that detect is not working. Interestingly, using Windows 7 Home on another computer - which I run with dual monitors - I receive the "Another display not detected" when I disconnected one of the monitors just as you mentioned.

Hmm, I am using the Intense PC Value barebones with the Fit-PC drivers. Is there possibly any setting that needs to be set to allow it to check for multiple monitors?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

IntensePC_User
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:32 pm

Re: Headless/Monitorless Windows 7

Post by IntensePC_User »

Sorry to hear this solution didn't work for you.
My setup is: Intense PC Pro, Win7 32bit.
Looks like the Intense PC Value has a Sandy Bridge chip with Intel 2000 graphics, while the Pro has an Ivy Bridge chip with Intel 4000 graphics. Maybe that's why it isn't working for you???

I've just tried the method on an unrelated desktop PC with AMD/ATI chipsets and it still works, so i'm not sure what the problem is on your machine. Attached is a screenshot of the resolution screen with what the setting looks like on this unrelated PC.
screen resolution settings for second monitor
screen resolution settings for second monitor
Screens.jpg (63.15 KiB) Viewed 4169 times
Maybe post a screenshot so I can try to help?
Good luck!

grzeszek101
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:14 pm

Re: Headless/Monitorless Windows 7

Post by grzeszek101 »

Thanks for the screen shot. It is the same screen that I get using several much older laptops, but with the Intense PC, it never changes. On the Intense PC, it seems that the Detect button does not trigger anything because it never turns grey or the like.

I am going to test it further over the weekend and will let you know if I have any luck.

Regards,

IntensePC_User
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:32 pm

Re: Headless/Monitorless Windows 7

Post by IntensePC_User »

So I thought I'd post a follow-up.

Looks like CompuLab has updated the BIOS for the Intense PC. On my Intense PC Pros they now completely work in headless mode with no virtual display drivers or tricking Windows into thinking a VGA monitor is attached.

I can confirm that it works with VNC, LogMeIn, Splashtop, and Remote Desktop!

grzeszek101
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:14 pm

Re: Headless/Monitorless Windows 7

Post by grzeszek101 »

Thanks for the heads-up IntensePC_User,

I never did get it to work, but I will give the BIOS update a try.

grzeszek101
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:14 pm

Re: Headless/Monitorless Windows 7

Post by grzeszek101 »

IntensePC_User,

The BIOS upgrade worked like a charm.

Thanks again.

Post Reply

Return to “Intense PC faults and troubleshooting”