Slackware 14 on basic fit-pc3

Post Reply
vtailor
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:54 pm

Slackware 14 on basic fit-pc3

Post by vtailor »

I haven't been able to display Hebrew for some reason on my RIP setup, so I put Slackware 14 onto my spare partition and updated the kernel to the latest 3.10.5-smp, and I get instant Hebrew text on appropriate web sites. Somewhere, you might want to put a "how to add Hebrew" howto.

Here is a photo.
Attachments
Screen.png
Screen.png (478.55 KiB) Viewed 4431 times

vtailor
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:54 pm

Re: Slackware 14 on basic fit-pc3

Post by vtailor »

As you know the radeon driver for Linux has a limited set of screen resolutions. There is a trick to get around that problem in Slackware 14: Go to the 'extra' directory and install the xf86...fbdev graphics driver. Then go to /usr/lib/xorg and disable the radeon, modesetting, and vesa drivers.

On the command line, exactly as with the fit-pc2, you write, e. g.,

video=1360x768 acpi_backlight=vendor

and you get a 1360x768 screen. Ignore the Xorg.0.log messages complaining about this. The swrast driver gives you direct rendering, even when it says it does not. Here is a screen capture showing the system running at 1360x768.

(From Xorg.0.log:

[ 29.636] (II) Loading sub module "fbdevhw"
[ 29.636] (II) LoadModule: "fbdevhw"
[ 29.636] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libfbdevhw.so
[ 29.637] (II) Module fbdevhw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 29.637] compiled for 1.12.3, module version = 0.0.2
[ 29.637] ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 12.0
[ 29.638] (**) FBDEV(0): claimed PCI slot 0@0:1:0
[ 29.638] (II) FBDEV(0): using default device
[ 29.638] (II) FBDEV(0): Creating default Display subsection in Screen section
"Default Screen Section" for depth/fbbpp 24/32
[ 29.638] (==) FBDEV(0): Depth 24, (==) framebuffer bpp 32
[ 29.638] (==) FBDEV(0): RGB weight 888
[ 29.638] (==) FBDEV(0): Default visual is TrueColor
[ 29.638] (==) FBDEV(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
[ 29.638] (II) FBDEV(0): hardware: radeondrmfb (video memory: 4224kB)
[ 29.638] (II) FBDEV(0): checking modes against framebuffer device...
[ 29.638] (II) FBDEV(0): checking modes against monitor...
[ 29.638] (--) FBDEV(0): Virtual size is 1360x768 (pitch 1360)
[ 29.638] (**) FBDEV(0): Built-in mode "current"
[ 29.638] (==) FBDEV(0): DPI set to (96, 96)
[ )
Attachments
Screen.png
Screen.png (359.12 KiB) Viewed 4417 times

vtailor
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:54 pm

Re: Slackware 14 on basic fit-pc3

Post by vtailor »

Let me point out that the Slackware 14 uses a Macintosh OS-style windows manager. I think this is interesting because IOS and Macintosh OS are all Intel-based systems. It isn't legal, and it costs money, but you could get Macintosh OS to run on the Intense PC using something called Hackintosh. The point is that ARM-based software is going to get competition from Intel or even AMD boxes, not worth the trouble to run ARM Ubuntu and its bochs fake ARM bios.

I think this is called a "heads up" for Compulab, but you decide for yourselves if it is valid.

vtailor
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:54 pm

Re: Slackware 14 on basic fit-pc3

Post by vtailor »

Oh, and one more thing: If you are counting on using the LIMBO emulator to run Linux on the ARM machine, there is one revealing footnote at the google web site that describes LIMBO. LIMBO does not have sound.

Maybe what you have in mind does have sound working, but not the one available from google.

And, so far, the demonstration Linux systems are strictly from 2000, meaning DSL Linux, pfeh.

Prove me wrong, I'd like that. Otherwise, get an arrangement with Apple Computer to run OS, and you'll have Apple hobbyists from all over the world clamoring for your hardware and probably copying it in Taiwan.

Post Reply

Return to “Linux on fit-PC3”