MintBox3 questions

Post Reply
Ivan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 2:29 pm

MintBox3 questions

Post by Ivan »

Greetings.

I'm considering the MintBox3. Had just a few questions. Sorry for posting here...no MintBox3 forum yet.

While I would love the Pro, it's likely overkill and the cost is a bit prohibitive for me.

My use case. I'm a potential convert from Windows so learning how to use Linux. At this start, I'll use this computer mostly for general browsing, email, word processor, and speadsheets. As my abilities increase, I'd like to learn GIMP (though not at a "graphic designer" level) and potentially start running some R code on it as well. No games, CAD, or other highly involved 3D graphics needs.

With that intro, 2 questions about the basic:

1. Can it run 2 (two) 4K monitors at 60 Hz simultaneously? I spend a good deal of time looking at large spreadsheets, and having that screen real estate is a huge boost to productivity.

2. If needed, could I update to a dedicated graphics processor in the future by purchasing a different FACE module?

Thank you,
Ivan

irads
Site Admin
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 2:11 pm

Re: MintBox3 questions

Post by irads »

Sounds like MintBox3 Basic would meet requirements.
GIMP should work well on the quad-core i5 with integrated graphics. 2x 4K displays (or 3x) are supported.

It is possible to later purchase a discrete graphics card. This is independent of the FACE Module.
-------------------------
Irad Stavi
Forum admin

-------------------------

Andreas.Lindermeier
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 2:00 pm

Re: MintBox3 questions

Post by Andreas.Lindermeier »

I bought the MintBox3 Basic and am generally very happy with it. I installed Windows 10 Pro on it with Linux Mint in Dual boot.
I am driving a screen with 3440x1440 resolution (ie 4.95m pixels).
I am not a gamer really, but when trying games at the full resolution (eg supertuxkart), it becomes quite laggy. Reducong the resolution to 2560x1080 (2.76m pixels) improves it a bit, but the integrated GPU is still fully maxed out.
As you say, a dedicated geraphics card can be added (eg GeForce GTX 1660 Super 6 GB or GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6 GB). When I search for them at electronics retailers, I see lots of models with active fans. but that would defeat the whole purpose of the Airtop. What cards are compatible?
thanks!

Andrey.Mazlin
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:02 am

Re: MintBox3 questions

Post by Andrey.Mazlin »

MintBox Basic is based on Airtop3 model. Take a look at this FAQ page:

https://fit-iot.com/web/airtop3-frequen ... questions/
Can I put RTX 2080 / Radeon / another graphics card in Airtop3?
Unfortunately not.

There is adaptation for graphics cards to be passively cooled inside Airtop3. It involves the following steps:
  • Verifying that the thermal and power envelope of the card allows it to work reliably in Airtop3
  • Designing a custom copper heat-plate specific for the graphics card and PCIe bracket
  • Reworking the graphics card during production (removing fans and heatsink, soldering power cable)
Unfortunately these steps are not in the scope of installation by end users. Compulab is doing its best to offer the best graphics card that can fit in Airtop3.
Sincerely Yours,
Andrey Mazlin
Application Support Engineer
Useful links:
https://fit-iot.com/web/
Support Forum: https://fit-iot.com/forum/index.php
Support Wiki: http://www.fit-pc.com/wiki/

Andreas.Lindermeier
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 2:00 pm

Re: MintBox3 questions

Post by Andreas.Lindermeier »

Thanks. Do you sell then these adapted graphics cards separately to be installed by the end user?
Cheers

Andrey.Mazlin
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:02 am

Re: MintBox3 questions

Post by Andrey.Mazlin »

Andreas.Lindermeier wrote:
Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:22 pm
Thanks. Do you sell then these adapted graphics cards separately to be installed by the end user?
Cheers
We sell them but not to be installed by the end user. When you order such card, you receive the whole clamshell door with the card assembled and ready to use. You need just replace your original door with received one and connect it to the board.

Here - https://fit-iot.com/web/buy/#tab-1580906373037-4-1 you can find GTX 1660 Ti kit for Airtop3 and Quadro RTX 4000 kit for Airtop3. Just instead of GTX 1160 Ti now we offer GTX 1660 Super.
Sincerely Yours,
Andrey Mazlin
Application Support Engineer
Useful links:
https://fit-iot.com/web/
Support Forum: https://fit-iot.com/forum/index.php
Support Wiki: http://www.fit-pc.com/wiki/

Post Reply

Return to “General Airtop3 questions”